Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
2004 Nebula Award Nominees
Nebula Award
Photo by Laura Mixon

The final ballot for this year's Nebula Awards has been released by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA). The 2004 Nebula Awards Final Ballot includes eligible works first published or released in 2003 and 2004. Winners will be announced at the Nebula Award banquet in Chicago on April 30, 2005.

Founded in 1965, the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America began with about 80 writers. It now has over 1,000 members. Active members of SFWA vote for the Nebula Awards. The awards are given each year for the best novel, novella, novelette, and short story eligible for that year's award. The script category was added in recent years. Each year, an anthology, including the winning pieces of short fiction and several runners-up, is also published. Each spring the awards are given out at the Nebula Awards Banquet over a weekend of meetings and panel discussions.

The Grand Master Award is given to a living author for a lifetime's achievement in science fiction or fantasy or both. Nominations for the Grand Master Nebula Award are made by the president of SFWA and awarded after approval of a majority of the SFWA officers.

Paladin of Souls, by Lois McMaster Bujold
Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom, by Cory Doctorow
Omega, by Jack McDevitt
Cloud Atlas : A Novel, by David Mitchell
Perfect Circle, by Sean Stewart
The Knight, by Gene Wolfe

Novella (17,500-39,999 words):
"Walk in Silence," by Catherine Asaro
"The Tangled Strings of the Marionettes," by Adam-Troy Castro
"The Cookie Monster," by Vernor Vinge
"The Green Leopard Plague," by Walter Jon Williams
"Just Like the Ones We Used to Know," by Connie Willis

Best Novelette (7,500-17,499 words):
"Zora and the Zombie", by Andy Duncan
"Basement Magic," by Ellen Klages
"The Voluntary State," by Christopher Rowe
"Dry Bones," by William Sanders
"The Gladiator's War: A Dialogue," by Lois Tilton

Short Story (7,499 words or fewer):
"Coming to Terms,"by Eileen Gunn
"The Strange Redemption of Sister Mary Anne," by Mike Moscoe
"Travels With my Cats," by Mike Resnick
"Embracing-The-New," by Benjamin Rosenbaum
"In the Late December," by Greg van Eekhout
"Aloha," by Ken Wharton

The Incredibles, by Brad Bird
The Butterfly Effect, by J. Mackye Gruber and Eric Bress
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, by Charlie Kaufman & Michel Gondry
The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, by Fran Walsh & Philippa Boyens & Peter Jackson, based on the novel by J.R.R. Tolkien

Grand Master Award Winners
Robert A. Heinlein (1974)
Jack Williamson (1975)
Clifford D. Simak (1976)
L. Sprague de Camp (1978)
Fritz Leiber (1981)
Andre Norton (1983)
Arthur C. Clarke (1985)
Isaac Asimov (1986)
Alfred Bester (1987)
Ray Bradbury (1988)
Lester Del Rey (1990)
Frederik Pohl (1992)
Damon Knight (1994)
A.E. Van Vogt (1995)
Jack Vance (1996)
Poul Anderson (1997)
Hal Clement (1998)
Brian Aldiss (1999)
Philip Jose Farmer (2000)
Ursula K. Le Guin (2003)
Robert Silverberg (2004)
Anne McCaffrey (2005)

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide