Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
2003 Nebula Award Nominees
Nebula Award
Photo by Laura Mixon

The final ballot for this year's Nebula Awards has been released by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA). The 2003 Nebula Awards Final Ballot includes eligible works first published or released in 2002 and 2003. Winners will be announced at the Nebula Award banquet in Philadelphia, April 17, 2004.

Founded in 1965, the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America began with about 80 writers. It now has over 1,000 members. Active members of SFWA vote for the Nebula Awards. The awards are given each year for the best novel, novella, novelette, and short story eligible for that year's award. The script category was added in recent years. Each year, an anthology, including the winning pieces of short fiction and several runners-up, is also published. Each spring the awards are given out at the Nebula Awards Banquet over a weekend of meetings and panel discussions.

The Grand Master Award is given to a living author for a lifetime's achievement in science fiction or fantasy or both. Nominations for the Grand Master Nebula Award are made by the president of SFWA and awarded after approval of a majority of the SFWA officers.

Diplomatic Immunity by Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)
The Mount by Carol Emshwiller (Small Beer Press)
Light Music by Kathleen Ann Goonan (Eos)
The Salt Roads by Nalo Hopkinson (Warner)
Chindi by Jack McDevitt (Ace)
The Speed of Dark by Elizabeth Moon (Ballantine)

Novella (17,500-39,999 words):
"Potter of Bones" by Eleanor Arnason (Asimov's Sep 2002)
"The Empress of Mars" by Kage Baker (Asimov's Jul 2003)
Coraline by Neil Gaiman (HarperCollins)
"Stories for Men" by John Kessel (Asimov's Oct/Nov 2002)
"Breathmoss" by Ian MacLeod (Asimov's May 2002)

Best Novelette (7,500-17,499 words):
"Mask of the Rex" by Richard Bowes (F&SF May 2002)
"Of a Sweet Slow Dance in the Wake of Temporary Dogs" by Adam-Troy Castro (Imaginings)
"0wnz0red" by Cory Doctorow (Salon Aug 2002)
"The Empire of Ice Cream" by Jeffrey Ford (Sci Fiction 02.26.03)
"The Wages of Syntax" by Ray Vukcevich (Sci Fiction 10.16.02)

Short Story (7,499 words or fewer):
"Knapsack Poems" by Eleanor Arnason (Asimov's May 2002)
"The Brief History of the Dead" by Kevin Brockmeier (The New Yorker Sep 8 2003)
"Goodbye to All That" by Harlan Ellison (McSweeney's Mammoth Treasury of Thrilling Tales)
"Grandma" by Carol Emshwiller (F&SF Mar 2002)
"What I Didn't See" by Karen Joy Fowler (Sci Fiction 07.10.02)
"Lambing Season" by Molly Gloss (Asimov's Jul 2002)
"The Last of the O-Forms" by James Van Pelt (Asimov's Sep 2002)

Finding Nemo by Andrew Stanton, Bob Peterson and David Reynolds
Minority Report by Scott Frank and John Cohen
Spirited Away by Hayao Miyazaki and Cindy Davis Hewitt & Donald H. Hewitt
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers by Fran Walsh & Philippa Bowens & Stephen Sinclair & Peter Jackson
"Where No Fan Has Gone Before" by David A. Goodman (Futurama)

Grand Master Award Winners
Robert A. Heinlein (1974)
Jack Williamson (1975)
Clifford D. Simak (1976)
L. Sprague de Camp (1978)
Fritz Leiber (1981)
Andre Norton (1983)
Arthur C. Clarke (1985)
Isaac Asimov (1986)
Alfred Bester (1987)
Ray Bradbury (1988)
Lester Del Rey (1990)
Frederik Pohl (1992)
Damon Knight (1994)
A.E. Van Vogt (1995)
Jack Vance (1996)
Poul Anderson (1997)
Hal Clement (1998)
Brian Aldiss (1999)
Philip Jose Farmer (2000)
Ursula K. Le Guin (2002)

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide